By Basil Afoni

The two Cameroonians, Nicolas Nkoulou and Clinton Njie failed to win the Marc-Vivien Foe award as they came in at the seventh and eighth positions respectively.

The two are the only Cameroonians to make the top ten.

Ghanaian midfielder Andre Ayew of Marseille was named the best African player of the 2014/15 French Ligue 1 season.
The 25-year-old was named ahead of Cote D’Ivoire’s Max-Alain Gradel (Saint-Etienne) and Tunisia’s Aymen Abdennour (Monaco) to win the Marc-Vivien Foe Trophy.

The Marc-Vivien Foe award was initiated by French radio RFI in 2009 to honour the Cameroon midfielder who collapsed on the pitch during the 2003 Fifa Confederations Cup semi-final between the Indomitable Lions and Colombia. He was pronounced dead moments later at a French hospital.

The maiden edition in 2009 was won by Moroccan striker Marouane Chamakh , while Ivorian Gervinho won it twice in 2010 and 2011.

Another Moroccan Younes Belhanda was named in 2012, with Gabon’s Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang claiming the 2012 prize and Nigeria international goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama emerging in 2014.
The award is given to the best African player in the French league.
2015 award list
1. Andre Ayew – Ghana
2. Wahbi Khazri-Tunisia
3. Max-Alain Gradel – Cote D’Ivoire
4. Jordan Ayew- Ghana
5. Lamine Sane – Senegal
6. Aymen Abdennnour- Tunisia
7. Nicolas Nkoulou- Cameroon
8. Clinton Njie – Cameroon
9. Aissa Mandi – Algeria
10. Mexer – Mozambique

Leave a Reply