By Etienne Mengjno Mainimo

Kamzong Abossolo Clovis is the champion of the 12th edition of the International cycling race of Cameroon. Clovis even though second on the lap classification finished on spot number one in the general classification of the entire race to win the yellow jersey which he kept since winning the first lap 121km from Yaoundé to Bafia on March 14 2015.

The victory of the SNH boy in Yaoundé brought so much joy and happiness as his colleague Nseke Geremie Francis from the Cameroon National team won the lap from Pouma to Yaoundé, completing the 131km stretch in 3:16:46”.

According to the Cameroon head coach Dieudonne Ntep, the tactic was very simple, “I told my boys to watch their opponents very closely and to tackle them when they show any sign of pushing forward. It is a victory of all the laps because it has been long since we had this great performance from our cycling team”.

Graczyk vicent of France break away from the group from Mbankomo to Mvan was not organized as his failure to continue on the same speed gave Cameroonian cyclist the opportunity to conquer the Burkina Faso Ouagraogo Rasmane who was closed in winning the yellow jersey.

To the winner of the lap Geremie Nseke, it was not an easy stage given that all the cyclists were looking for the yellow jersey, “the lap was very difficult but the encouragements and advice given to us by our coaches help us and it is the victory of Cameroon. More appreciation goes to the fans that came out in the streets to cheer us to victory”.

The FECACYCLIST president Yossi Honore and the International Union of Cyclist the commissioner of the race sated with joy the success of the race reiterating that a better one is expected next year.

The coach just like many Cameroonians plus fans club of Abossolo Clovis that turn out at the 20th May boulevard in Yaoundé sang songs of joy and encouragements to the winners as well as to the Cameroon army fighting the terrorist group, Boko Haram in the Far North Region.

Out of the 8th lap, Cameroon won five while the remaining three were won by an Ivorian, French and a Rwandan.
Nseke Geremie Francis (Cameroon) obtained the rose jersey for the winner of the lap, Ouadraogo Rasmane (Burkina Faso) took the green jersey for the best in Individual points, and Haring Martin (Slovakia) took the white with red sport for the Best Climber while Hakuzimana Camara (Rwanda) took the white jersey for the best youngest rider.

Kamzong Abossolo Clovis took the blue for the best Cameroonian cyclist and yellow for the over-all best in the laps.

Since the creation of the cycling race in 2003, four Cameroonian have won the tour, Martinen Tega won in 2004, Joseph Sanda in 2008, Yve Ngue Ngock in 2012 while Kamzong Abossolo Clovis is the reigning champion. Dan Craven was the winner of last year’s race.

Winner of Pouma Yaounde Lap
1st Nseke Geremie Francis (Cameroon)
2nd Kamzong Abossolo Clovis (Cameroon)
3rd Bintunimana Emile (Rwanda)
General classification
1st Kamzong Abossolo Clovis (Cameroon) – Champion 12th edition.
2nd Ouagraogo Rasmane (Burkina Faso)
3rd Bintunimana Emile (Rwanda)
Best climbers
Haring Martins (Slovakia)
Best young cyclist
Hakuzimana Camara (Rwanda)
Best team of the race
Rwandan national cycling team
Jersey Classification
Kamzong Abossolo Clovis – Cameroon
• Blue – Best Cameroonian cyclist
• Yellow – Over all best in the laps
Nseke Geremie Francis (Cameroon)
• Rose – Winner of 8th lap
Ouadraogo Rasmane – Burkina Faso
• Green – Best in Individual points
Haring Martin – Slovakia
• White with red sport – Best Climber
Hakuzimana Camara – Rwanda
• White – best youngest rider.

Winners of the Laps
1st lap Yaounde – Bafia : kamzong Abossolo Clovis ( SNH Cameroon)
2nd lap Bafia – Bagante : Bintuniumana Emile (Rwanda)
3rd lap Bafoussam – Foumban – Bafoussam : Kamzong Abossolo Clovis (Cameroon)
4th lap Bafang – Mbanga : Nseke Geremie Francis (Cameroon)
5th lap Bonaberi – Buea – Limbe : Nseke Geremie Francis (Cameroon)
6th lap Limbe – Douala : Graczyk Vincent (France)
7th lap Douala – Kribi : Bassirou Konte (Ivory Coast)
8th lap Pouma – Yaounde : Nseke Geremie Francis (Cameroon)
Champions since its creation in 2003
2003 – Ivan Terenine
2004 – Martinine Tega
2005 – Davide Silvestri
2006 – Pawel Nedwdach
2007 – Flevien Chipault
2008 – Joseph Sanda
2009 – David Carke
2010 – Milan Barenyi
2011 – Oumarou Minougou
2012 – Yves Ngue Ngock
2013 – Not Organized
2014 – Dan Craven
2015 – Kamzong Abossolo Clovis

Leave a Reply