Kila Jisi

The local championship for the 2013/2014 football season would be played with 19 clubs up from 14 clubs during the 2012/2013 season.

This is the decision of the Normalisation Committee that met in Yaoundé on December 10 under the leadership of its President, Prof. Joseph Owona.

It should be recalled that Bamboutous of Mbouda in 2007 was relegated to division 2 for its involvement in corruption.

The Chamber of Arbitration of the Cameroon Olympic and Sports Committee on December 2013 rendered the decision null and void.

Against this backdrop, Fecafoot in a move to appease and put an end to the dispute has re-integrated the club into division 1.

The championship whose kick-off initially billed for January 18 has been postponed indefinitely for want of finances would be played with 19 clubs.

Protection some clubs that descended into division two, such as Tonnerre Kalara Club has been alleged as one of the reasons for increasing the number of clubs from 14 to 18.

There has been no clear explanation as to why the League and club presidents witnessing financial difficulties with the withdrawal of the main sponsor could decide to increase the number of clubs.

But, Fecafoot has instructed the Professional Football League to take the necessary measures to ensure that the championship is played with 18 clubs in the 2014/2015 season.

Meanwhile, the Elite Two championship would be played with 18 clubs with eight promoted from Elite Two Qualifying Tournament.

Leave a Reply