Kila Jisi

Indomitable Lions Coach, Volker Finke, has re-called goalkeeper Idriss Carlos Kameni among the 25-man squad to meet Libya in September counting for the last day of play for the second round 2014 World Cup qualifier.

Cameroon are leaders of Group I with a point difference ahead of Libya with 10 points.

Kameni was last called to the national team in 2012 under Jean Paul Akono for the match against Cape Verde.

Spending most part of his career with Espanyol, Kameni made 229 appearances for La Liga before signing for Malaga.

Kameni has been to two World Cups and five African Nations Cups. During his holidays in Cameroon two months Kameni organized a ‘goalkeeper’s day’ to beef the capacity of goalkeepers of the local championship.

Also making his come-back is Idrissou Mohammadou though in the supplementary list. The attacker who has scored six goals in six matches for his club, FC Kaiserslautern last played for Cameroon against Cape Cape Verde in Yaoundé.

Gaetang Bong and Jean Armel Kana Biyik are also returning to the team while Fabric Olinga, a regular is in the waiting list.

The player most Cameroonians would want to see would be Jean Marie Dongou, the revelation of FC Barcelone who would play for the first time with the Indomitable Lions.

Volker Finke has reinforced the attack and would count on the presence of Lions captain Samuel Eto’o and Choupo Moting who is out of injury to qualify for the last round.

However, Finke has not called any player from the local league for the encounter against Libya. The players go to camp this week-end at the CAF Technical Centre at Mbankomo in the outskirts of Yaounde.

List of 25 players

Goalkeepers: Idriss Carlos Kameni (Malaga, Spain), Charles Itandje (Konyaspor, Turkey), Sammy Ndjock (Antalyaspor, Turkey).

Defenders: Allan Nyom (Grenade, Spain), Aurelien Chedjou (Galatasaray, Turkey), Benoit Angbwa (Kryla Sovetov Samara, Russia), Dany Nounkeu (Galatasaray, Turkey), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille, France), Gaetan Bong (Olympiakos, Greece), Jean-Armel Kana-Biyik (Rennes, France), Benoît Assou-Ekotto (Tottenham, England).

Midfielders : Stephan Mbia (Queens Park Rangers, England), Eyong Enoh (Ajax Amsterdam, Ireland), Jean II Makoun (Rennes, France), Joël Matip (Schalke 04, Germany), Raoul Cédric Loé (Osasuna, Spain), Landry Nguemo (Bordeaux, France).

Attackers: Samuel Eto’o (Anzhi Makhachkala, Russia), Achille Webo (Fenerbahce, Turkey), Aboubakar Oumarou (Vojvodina Novi Sad, Serbia), Eric-Maxim Choupo Moting (Mayence, Germany), Jacques Zoua (Hambourg, Germany), Benjamin Moukandjo (Nancy, France), Jean-Marie Dongou (FC Barcelone, Spain).

Waiting List : Guy-Rolland Ndy Assembé (Guingamp, France), Fabrice Olinga (Malaga, Spain), Vincent Aboubakar (Lorient, France), Mohamadou Idrissou (Kaiserslautern, Germany).

Leave a Reply