By Basil Afoni

After a sit up call from Cameroon football federation, FECAFOOT for Broos to see that the Indomitable Lions shine in AFCON 2017 in Gabon and also qualify for Russia 2018, the Belgian tactician has named a 35-man squad in order to select the best.

In drawing up is 35-man list, Broos brought in five new players to add to the initial 30 he told pressmen he has been working with.

These are goalkeeper Georges Bokwe (Coton Sport), two defenders Ernest Mabouka (Zilina of Slovakia), Maxime Poundje(Bordeaux), and two midfielders Zambo Anguissa (Marseille), Amadou Ibrahim (Lille)

Broos’ list also include players whose allegiance to the Cameroon national team is a doubt.

These are the cases of Joël Matip. The Liverpool defender recently announced that he will stay with the English giants as they continue their quest for their first English Premier League title.


His opinion is not a surprise since the former Schalke 04 player had declined all summons for several months.

The same goes for André Zambo Anguissa. The Olympique de Marseille midfielder of is not ready for the moment to play with the indomitable Lions. ” I need to play, spend time at the club before anything else.


If the selection comes, it will be in its time, “he said in an interview granted to the French newspaper La Provence, indicating in passing that there are players who have qualified the team for the CAN and that they should logically be convened for the final phase.

There is also Ibrahim Amadou, the Lille midfielder has once said no to Cameroon. It is also difficult to think that Maxime Poundje, Girondins Bordeaux defender will be present.


He has already played with the lower categories of the French team.


The full squad can be seen below.


Goalkeepers: Fabrice Ondoa, André Onana, Ndy Assembe, Jules Goda, Georges Bokwe
Defenders: Allan Nyom, Henri Bédimo, Aurélien Chedjou, Nicolas Nkoulou, Ambroise Oyongo Collins Faï Djetei Mohammed, Ernest Mabouka, Jonathan Ngwen, Maxime Poundje, Michael Ngadeu, Joël Matip, Adolph Teikeu

Midfielders: Sébastien Siani, Arnaud Djoum, Georges Mandjeck, Zambo Anguissa, Amadou Ibrahim, Franck Kom, Franck Boya

Strikers: Salli Edgar, Clinton Njie, Jacques Zoua, Toko Ekambi, Anatole Abang, Choupo-Moting, Bassogog, Vincent Aboubakar, Benjamin Moukandjo, Ndip Tambe

Leave a Reply